Home > Reportage > The results for July!

The results for July!

Because I know y’all have been waiting for it. And by y’all, I mean Me.

Anyway, this month I wrote 45,115 words, which is an improvement of 6,783 words over June, so HUZZAH! It’s still not the magic 50,000 word mark, but it’s getting there. The total number of words written for this project so far clocks in at 94,559 words, to which I say…

Wow.

That comes to about 1,332 words per day, on average. Again, below the NaNoWriMo limit of 1,667 and a fair bit below the number that Stephen King recommends, 2,000 words per day.

But you know what? I’m pretty damned pleased with it. I know that word count is not the end-all be-all of writing – the quality of what you write should trump the quantity of words. But that’s really the only measurable thing I have to work with, so it’s what I use. I think the quality is generally good, perhaps better than I expected, but I am biased. The comments I’m getting so far are positive, too.

I had only one story that was unfinished, and that was mostly because I was sick. Unlike June’s unfinished piece, I actually want to pick up on this one and try it again sometime, so we’ll see.

Some other things I’ve discovered: my writing time is generally after 8:00 PM, unless I have nothing else to do. I bring my iPad with me to work, and try to get some writing done then, but it’s very hard to split my attention from all the things I’m supposed to be doing as a teacher and the things I want to be doing as a writer. So the best I can do is jot down ideas, and by the time I get settled down to write it’s after 8, and most of the time this is no problem. I do have a very teacherly 11:00 bedtime, though, so if I can find a way to give myself more time, I will. This is especially important on Wednesdays, because I record the podcast Wednesday nights, and on days when I actually want to do something in the evening.

What’s also fun is trying to explain the stories to The Boyfriend. He really wants me to do stories with happy endings, perhaps something light and humorous, so when I say, “Tonight’s story is about two kittens who turn into ZOMBIES!!” he just throws up his hands and says, “Okay, have fun.”

This month was also interesting in that I did my first fan fiction, which I’m pretty sure I’ll do again. And a week of stories based on obscure words that I found over on Luciferous Logolepsy, a great place if you’re interested in words that don’t get a lot of exposure anymore.

All in all, things are going well. August should be interesting, as I’m taking a trip for a couple of weeks, so we’ll see how that goes. I don’t plan on missing any days of writing, though posting might be a bit sproadic. More on that later.

For now, thanks for stopping by and reading!

  1. July 31, 2011 at 1:43 PM

    my word count will never be that high, thanks to the sparse style of my writing…. but hey, i’ve been busting my ass too. Let’s raise a glass to us :)

    • July 31, 2011 at 1:44 PM

      Here’s to making things that are awesome! *clink*

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

