Home > Reportage > Here’s how October worked out….

Here’s how October worked out….

For the most part: Not bad. I had another three-parter, with Special Agent Khrys Ferro, which was intended to be a kind of male Mary-Sue story and then turned into something… different. But it was entertaining in its way, and I’ll keep him around for future use. I’ve also been doing well over on Worth1000.com, with all my entries thus far winning medals. That, as they say, ain’t half bad.

On the downside, I missed three days due to illness, the details of which I will not bore and / or disgust you with. Suffice it to say that I think I made the right decision. Even though it does set a precedent for allowing myself to take breaks from writing, it’s still a pretty high bar to clear. So to speak.

Anyway, here are the numbers for October: I wrote 36,524 words this month, which is lower than most. Part of it is losing a few days, and part of it is writing some really short stories. Won’t be able to get away with that next month, though – but more on that later. The word total thus far is 167,631 words, which looks awesome when I write it up like that. Gods willing, I’ll break 200,000 by the end of November.

Which brings us to National Novel Writing Month. I outlined my thoughts pretty clearly over on my blog, but to summarize: I’m doing NaNoWriMo this year, but with a wee bit of a twist. Instead of writing a novel, I’ll be doing an anthology of 30 short stories. The plan is to use the classical elements as a theme – air, water, fire, earth, and aether. Each element will get six days and six stories. That’s it. If everything goes well, then I’ll hit that 50,000 word mark and everyone will be happy.

If not, then it’s shame and ignominy all around, I suppose.

So, wish me luck!

Categories: Reportage
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

